Zeds Dead Announces New Label Altered States – Catching Z’s Mixtape

Hailing from Toronto, Canada, North American bass music pioneers Zeds Dead champion a sound all their own. The prolific duo made up of Dylan “DC” Mamid and Zachary “Hooks” Rapp-Rovan rapidly rose to critical acclaim since their inception in 2009, garnering hundreds of millions of cross-platform streams and Top 20 Billboard hits along the way. Seven years into their wide-reaching career, Zeds Dead launched their own independent label, Deadbeats (launched February, 2016). A tastemaker label having propelled the careers of artists such as Subtronics, PEEKABOO, 1788-L and more, Zeds Dead & Deadbeats proudly celebrate their 5 year anniversary with the launch of a brand new label, Altered States. A new musical home focused on championing electronic, chill, and downtempo sounds, Altered States launches with Catching Z’s, a 13-track mixtape of brand new original music from Zeds DeadCatching Z’s is available for streaming and purchase on Friday, March 26, with lead single “late night drive” out Friday, March 5.

Listen on Spotify!


Accumulating billions of streams across its steady calendar of 40+ releases annually since launch, the Deadbeats brand has surpassed many milestones. Circulating iconic venues such as Red Rocks, Aragon Ballroom, Ministry of Sound London, and more, Deadbeats has hosted global tours that are a testament to the imprint’s international presence. Adding to their ever growing ubiquity, the company provides fans with an excess of digital content in conjunction with their globally syndicated Deadbeats Radio show and Twitch channel which now hosts regular livestreams, DJ sets, and more.

z Blog Image 2 | UFO Network


From dubstep to drum & bass to house, Zeds Dead’s genre-defying sounds, and their Deadbeats label, have never been pigeonholed into a singular style. Carrying the launch of a new division of Deadbeats focused on exploring a diverse range of experimental electronic music, Zeds Dead proudly unveils the inauguration of their Altered States record label with Catching Z’s (Mixtape). First beginning as a mix series dating back 4 years, Catching Z’s showcases a deeper, more delicate side of Zeds Dead’s production. Ripe with highly diverse and nuanced Zeds Dead sound, Catching Z’s is a compelling looking glass into what is yet to come from their Altered States endeavor.

Peaceful yet enthralling, Catching Z’s opens with “when i die i’mma come back” and “exit row,” two sonic markers of talent showcasing Zeds Dead’s immense versatility in sound. Teaming up with vocalist Elliot Moss, “lost birds” is a spellbinding whirlwind of raw vocal sincerity and downtempo production prowess. Track number 4, “phuket sunrise,” errs on the downtempo side again with an exciting breakbeat boost in the second half, energetically feeding into “get what you need,” another impressive display of Zeds Dead’s percussive masterhand.

Transporting listeners to a place beyond the pines is “time is an illusion,” aptly named as Zeds Dead seemingly grab the reins of time for two minutes and seven seconds to usher in a cacophony of tranquility. “i think you’re cool” featuring Jenna Pemkowski elicits divine feminine energy as the singer’s buoyant vocal work hypnotizes, while stirring soundscapes whirr. Slightly wonky, “desert fractal” features chilled out worldly beats, as “late night drive” uses chilling chord progressions to combine with sweeping 808s. Clocking in at just under one minute is “forever alone,” a haunting segue into “don’t close your eyes,” another bone-chilling display of Zeds Dead’s knack for all things downtempo. Closing out Catching Z’s is “over and over” and “93 ’til now,” two burgeoning tracks to leave a final lasting impression, as well as a taste of what is yet to come from Altered States.

With more to come throughout the course of 2021 and beyond, Catching Z’s is the exciting first look into Zeds Dead’s Altered States.

Catching Z’s Tracklist
01. when i die i’mma come back
02. exit row
03. lost birds ft. Elliot Moss
04. phuket sunrise
05. get what you need
06. time is an illusion
07. i think you’re cool ft. Jenna Pemkowski
08. desert fractal
09. late night drive
10. forever alone
11. don’t close your eyes
12. over and over
13. 93 ’til now

Connect with Zeds Dead

Website / Spotify / SoundCloud / Facebook / Instagram / Twitter / YouTube

z ART | UFO Network


UFO Network

UFO Network is the go-to global hub for EDM enthusiasts, spanning 125+ countries. We are your ultimate source for Electronic Dance Music (EDM), EDM news, reviews, and exclusive interviews, catering to DJs, artists, and labels. Additionally, it’s a platform for emerging talent, offering opportunities for DJs and artists to showcase their skills and grow their careers through events and collaborations. It is with thanks to our fans and viewers that UFO Network have been deemed Best EDM blogs 2024.

Dedicated to delivering honest, unbiased news and high quality content, UFO Network is committed to providing comprehensive insights into the electronic music scene. Founded in Helsingborg, Sweden, on April 19, 2015, by Jacques Maurice Julie and Darren Johnathan Bezuidenhout, it continues to shape the industry from its headquarters in Sweden, pushing boundaries and fostering creativity worldwide.

Connect with us on Social Media

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

More Like This